top of page

Getting Your Hands Dirty...


Second grade students in an after school program called SECME in Miami learn about the properties of soil, sand and rocks.

Science should be messy. Especially in the early grades. These mini scientists are starting to explore the world around them. Worksheets and videos don't cut it. They HAVE to get hands-on. As often as possible.

Sand. Most students I see when I visit schools live less than an hour away from the Atlantic Ocean. Forget the beach, sand is really everywhere. How about sandboxes? Remember when those were all the rage? Where did they go? If students have forgotten or simply did not get the chance, when I put sand in front of them, their world just lights up. They even ask if they can TOUCH IT!!! (Insert eye-bugging-out emoji here.)

Sometimes we forget how simple hands-on science can really be. It took me less than 10 minutes to grab some sand, soil and rocks and place them into these cups. (Later on I asked them to make predictions about adding water...) The expressions and muddy fingers are all I need to know that these kids had plenty to talk about at the dinner table that night.

Share your simplicity.

bottom of page