top of page

Blast from the Past

Okay, okay, it was bound to happen. A short lapse in my blog posting... In my defense, I have been training non stop. But I really should take the time to talk about the amazing professional development! Next time.... this story is just too good.

Lindsey. I remember her in my classroom from day 1. So polite, kind, sweet and outgoing. You'd think she might be kissing up to the teacher, but seriously, it was just her personality. She was just that wonderful.

Fast forward to this past fall, ten years later. Lindsey finds me on Facebook. She's now a 5th grade classroom teacher in Austin, Texas. Mind blown. Where did the time go?! She tells me that she became a teacher because of me.... how does one react? Wow.

Every year I attend the TCEA conference in Austin and I mentioned this to her, hoping for some time to hangout and catch up. She couldn't wait-- neither could I!

Watching Lindsey teach her students that day... it was like I was watching myself over 20 years ago with her enthusiasm, her directive voice and her contagious smile. Crazy how the circle can complete itself.

I was just so proud of the person she became. I certainly teared up just thinking about it. And I just did again.

Here's to those blasts from the past.

bottom of page