top of page

Write 100 Words on Why You Love Teaching

I knew this would be a daunting task as soon as it was proposed to me. Jessie Boyce, math teacher and extraordinaire (also up for a Teacher of the Year in her district might I add) popped this lovely topic in our Twitter feed a wee bit ago. I've spent this whole time agonizing over it. (No I didn't. That statement was just to glorify the process.)

I actually think about this statement all the time. Especially during the holidays. Of course you know that the holidays are a special time and even the Grinches seem to toss out crooked smiles here and there. (I know, so cliche!) But in truth, things just seem a little "lighter" and nicer.

So this is probably the best time of year to write these 100 words.

I must start with a disclaimer: I am no longer working full time in the classroom. I write this sentence with some sadness in my heart. First to note, I didn't start out as a teacher. I spent a small stint working as a lab rat in a Boston hospital before I decided that teaching science to youngsters was my real passion. Then after more than a decade of cell models, Matchbox car ramps, field journals and themed dances, I traveled to the south and started to write a new chapter. I would now be helping teachers all around the world a fun new way to teach science to their minis. I digress. Summary, once a teacher, always a teacher.

My 100 Words:

Imagine a world where day in and day out you don’t make difference in someone's life. That's something I will never have to imagine: I am a teacher. Each day I smile, wave, give high-fives and hugs, wipe tears (and boogers), read books, solve problems, tie shoes, play 4-square and clean up messes. I also work with teachers, principals, parents, custodians and the whole community, maybe not in that same capacity, but they have needs too. Everyone needs me. It feels incredible to be needed and important. I love making a difference in so many lives: that’s why I teach.

bottom of page