top of page

What's in a Last Name?

This mini post is all about last names.

Recently my big sister told me that my nieces had a special guest at their Girl Scouts meeting that talked about her ancestry. I'm sure my 8-year-old niece sat in wonderment as this women talked about how her family came over on the Mayflower and that she has relatives that were Vikings. Of course the daughter of this woman was probably beaming from ear to ear on the carpet as she listened to her family's past!

Later on, while my sister was driving my niece home, she asked her about the presentation. Lauren replied, "It's not fair. Our family is so boring!"

HA! Poor little child. You simply have not asked about our family name or past! I'll give you a hint: according to records, we ALSO had an ancestor on the Mayflower! Tied!

And if that doesn't cut it, look at our last name.... Mercury! How cool is that?!

bottom of page